Friday, June 1, 2012

The 5 Love Languages

Recently, I finished listening to an audio book this summer about the 5 love languages by Gary Chapman. :3 I couldn't find any copy of the book in bookstores so I had to download an audio book. HEHE.

Anyway, Chapman discussed about the concept of people having "emotional love tanks" which are to be filled by others. I think it's kind of like a psychological thing. It's interesting though. :>

It was quite interesting that I also tried to research online if they have any quizzes just to find out my own love language. ^^ You can also try it for yourself. Click here.

So, here are the 5 love languages:

1) Words of Affirmation
"Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten."
2) Quality Time
"In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful."
3) Receiving Gifts
"Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday, anniversary, or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures."
4) Acts of Service
"Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter."
5) Physical Touch
"This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive."

To find out more about the 5 love languages, click here.

Once we figure out other people's love languages, it'll also be easier to show love to them because we know what to do. And by showing them love, we need to act. It is not just doing it because we feel like it, but by the decision to love. Remember, love is a choice. Feelings are just the result of it. ^^ To love is to give in expense of one's self.

"Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony." - Colossians 3:14 (NLT)

No comments:

Post a Comment

More Reads.